Using Sheet Permissions

You can manage which users and other components can interact with the sheet that you own by setting the sheet permissions.

You would need to restrict access to your Sheets. Only the Sheet owners should be able to apply permission to restrict access to its Sheets. Whenever a new Sheet is created, by default it is accessible to all Users, Apps, and all other Sheets. You can restrict your individual sheets by applying for Sheet Permissions.

For Applying permissions, Go to Sheets tab, click on the Share icon on the right side of sheet name as shown below:

This will open Permission/Share dialog for the selected Sheet. Below is the list of Actions you can do in this dialog -

User Tab

  • You can update All Users settings to either Can Edit, No Access or View Only . This will be applied to all admin users in your account. By default - This option is set to Can Edit .

  • You can update Public settings to either Can Edit, No Access or View Only . This will allow Sheet to be accessible/restricted to everyone without login into DronaHQ Studio. By default - This option is set to No Access .

  • Search and Add multiple users to provide either Can Edit, No Access or View Only rights. Individual User’s access rights will always take precedence compared to All Users’ access rights. For Example, User 1 is given " No Access " and All Users is given " View Only " Access than User 1 will not be able to access this sheet even though All Users’ is given View Only Access as individual rights take precedence.

  • You can also transfer Ownership of this Sheet to any other User. Once done, you will no longer be able to change Sharing settings but instead, it will be transferred to the New Owner.

App Tab

  • You can update All Apps settings to either Can Edit, No Access or View Only . This will be applied to All Apps in your account. By default - This option is set to Can Edit .

  • Search and Add multiple Apps to provide either Can Edit, No Access or View Only rights. Individual App access rights will always take precedence compared to All Apps access rights. For Example, App called Task Management is given " No Access" and All Apps is given " View Only " then Task Management will not be able to access this sheet data even though All Apps is given View Only access as individual rights take precedence.

Sheet Tab

  • You can update All Sheets settings to either Can Edit, No Access or View Only. This will be applied to all Sheets in your account. By default - This option is set to Can Edit.

  • Search and Add multiple Sheets to provide either Can Edit, No Access, or View Only rights. Individual Sheet access rights will always take precedence compared to All Sheets’ access rights. For Example, Sheet 1 is given No Access and All Sheets is given Read Access than Sheet 1 will not be able to access this sheet data even though All Apps is given Read Access as individual rights take precedence.

  1. You can Notify Users / App owner / Sheet owner by enabling - Notify Email Toggle while sharing the sheet to the New User/App/Sheet.

Permission Options

  1. No Access - If this permission is Set on a particular sheet, then User/App/Sheet will not be able to access a given sheet. For example - All Users under the User tab is set to “No Access” then, none of the users will be able to access this sheet except explicitly defined. In this case, only the Sheet owner will have access to this sheet. Similarly, these settings can be applied to App and Sheets from App and Sheets Tab respectively.

  2. Can Edit - If this permission is Set on a particular sheet, then User/App/Sheet will be able to access and edit the given sheet. For example - All Users under the User tab is set to “Can Edit” then, all users will be able to access and make changes to this sheet. Similarly, these settings can be applied to App and Sheets from App and Sheets Tab respectively.

  3. View Only - If this permission is Set on a particular sheet, then User/App/Sheet will be able to only View the given sheet. For example - All Users under the User tab is set to “View Only” then, all users will only be able to view this sheet. They will not be able to edit/apply any filter in this sheet. Similarly, these settings can be applied to App and Sheets from App and Sheets Tab respectively.