JSON from custom API to a list view?

I’m new to DronaHQ but have been using low-code and no-code tools for some time and have over a decade of experience in real programming so I’m aware of the concepts, but I’m having a difficult time getting the response from a custom API (JSON format) into a list view. I can get the response returned in the connection editor and can even get the values of an object to appear in a toast element from an action workflow. No matter what I do I can’t get the objects to pass through to the list view though.

Am I missing something basic here? Is it not possible to directly feed the list with the response from the webhook? Am I supposed to be putting the response into a temporary sheet? I feel that would be silly since I can manipulate the data after the response while still in the client-side action workflow.

Hi @dyelton

Yes you can bind the api response directly to tablegrid control.

I will list down the steps involved below -

1. Register you custom api (You would have already registered this looking at your response)
  2. Add your api in the connectors section. (You are adding it from actionflow i presume as you are showing toast. instead you should add it from Connectors option on the left sidebar)
  3. once, the api is added in connectors, you can bind this api in Tablegrid control > Properties > Data > Api > Select api . Select multiple keys which you want to show.
    The keys you select above should be of same length, For eg - if JSON response is below, you can add data.name and data.Age keys but cannot add offset key as others are of length 2 and offset is a single value.

I have created a quick video of the same - here

For a sample usage of Data binding from Api - refer this article

Hope this helps!

Thanks @fenil.jain