App and Connector Permissions

When you create a connector or app , there are different permissions that can be assigned. It is important to remember that only the Owner of the connector/App has the right to assign rights to the different users. The Owner can assign permission to users as Owner, Editor, Use only or None. Before we proceed further, one must know what term Owner stands for in different contexts

  1. Account owner: Has blanket access to all resources.
  2. App owner: The one who creates the app and can give permissions.
  3. Connector owner: The one who creates the connector and can give permissions.

Connector Permissions

To set the connector permission, go to your connector from Connectors list and click on more options (three dots) and select Edit permissions.

Setting connector permissions

There are two ways in which permissions can be set

  • User : by this, you can set permissions for each individual within the organisation.
  • Group : by this you can set permissions for specific groups of people within the organisation. Example Developers, Marketing, etc.

There are four types of Connector permissions

1) Owner
2) Editor
3) Use Only
4) None

When setting up individual permissions or group permissions, the first entry is of the All Users. This option helps to set default permission for all users.

  1. Owner: Owner role has the maximum permissions possible. This role allows a user to edit permissions of other users, edit configurations of connector, delete connector and to manage environments.

Options available for the owner.

  1. Editor: This role allows a user to edit configurations of connector and to manage environments.

Options available for Editor

  1. Use Only: This role will only have the permissions to use. In case a user try to edit the connector, the changes won’t be saved.

Save option disabled for users with Use Only permissions

  1. None: This role will not have any permission at all. Hence the connector will not be visible to people having this role. So user will not be able to bind it in their apps

App Permissions

To set the app permission, go to your app catalogue and select an App, click on more options (three dots) and select Edit permissions.

There are two ways in which permissions can be set

  • User : by this, you can set permissions for each individual within the organisation.
  • Group : by this you can set permissions for specific groups of people within the organisation. Example Developers, Marketing, etc.

There are five types of Connector permissions

1) Owner
2) Publisher
3) Editor
4) Preview Only
5) None

When setting up individual permissions or group permissions, the first entry is of the All Users. This option helps to set default permission for all users.

There are five types of permissions

  1. Owner: Owner role has the maximum permissions possible.This role allows a user to edit app details, update app, change status of app to live, Edit environments and delete app.

Options available for Owner

  1. Publisher: This role allows a user to edit app details, update app and change status of app to live. Publisher won’t be able to change user permissions and delete the app.

Options available for Publisher

  1. Editor: This role will only allow users to edit app and to preview the app. Editor won’t be able to publish the app.

Publish option disabled for editor

  1. Preview Only: This role will only have permission to preview the app. User won’t be able to edit or publish the app

Pop informing about preview only role

No Options available for preview only user

  1. None: This role will not have any permissions and hence the app won’t be visible to people in the studio dashboard.

Environment: In addition to permissions, owners can alse set permissions for various development environments. Select the data environment which the creator should have access to. Different environments options are Production, Staging, Development and other environments created by you. You can read more about the environment and create your own environment here.

Important note

While giving permissions to users for apps or connectors, remember the fact that permissions of all users are given precedence over individual permissions. For instance, a user is given a preview only role for an app, but all users are given an editor role, then that individual user will end up having up permissions of the editor role. So beware of such permission overriding. For safe side, allow limited permissions to all users by default

All the Apps / Connectors are resources that can be customized and consumed by users. But all these resources are not meant for everyone. Sometimes we need a resource only available to a particular user or group of users, thus limiting access. On other hand we might also want the same resource to be available to everyone but with varying levels of authorization. Therefore permissions come in use for those scenarios. Permissions help us set the usage authority for different users / user groups. Permissions can be granted in two ways

  1. Individual permissions:- An individual can be granted certain permissions for a resource
  2. Group permissions:- A group of people can be granted certain permissions for a resource.

App and Connector permissions for individual user.

(Note):- only permissions can be edited for a user having an ACTIVE account. We cannot edit permissions of a user with a deactivated account.

We will use the User view. User view allows to edit user information and set user permissions for resources (App/Connector).To set the Permissions for individual

  • On the left side of the dashboard, select Manage Users.
  • Select a user and click on Options “…” > Edit Permissions.
  • You can see two options for Apps and Connectors. When you click on the respective options, you see a list of available Apps / Connectors where you can set the permissions for each one separately.
  • For Apps, You can also select the Environments accessible to the user for a particular resource.

Permission view for Apps

Permissions available for Connectors

App and Connector permissions for a Group.

Groups are created based on similarity in profiles. Within an organisation, there are various teams like marketing, developers, designers etc. So particular resources (App/Connector) should be accessible by all members of a particular team, therefore we use group permissions.To set group permissions, we use Group view. Group view is similar to user view only difference in setting permissions for a group rather than an individual.

  • On the left side of the dashboard, select Manage Users.
  • From Top , select :gear:Manage groups.

  • Here you can Manage permissions of user groups or Create new groups.
  • The first group visible is responsible to set the permissions for All users. Select “…” > Edit Permissions and now you can provide permissions for various Apps / Connectors.

App permissions and environments

Connector permissions and environments

  • For Apps,You can also select the Environment for particular App/Connector for which you are trying to provide permissions. Generally there are scenarios where only particular creators need to be given edit permissions on a production environment and others need to be restricted. Environments let you define that level of granularity.